Things to do with Waffles

Breakfast is not only the most important meal of the day, but arguably the most delicious. Have you seen some of the pancake stacks that Denny’s and IHop serve?? Piled with nuts and sauces and whipped cream and fruit, let’s not forget that the word “cake” is used. It’s one of the most wonderful parts of american culture, a big sugary breakfast.

My family is no stranger to this tradition, up until 8th grade my mom would make me a plate-sized chocolate chip pancake for breakfast every day. I may have been spoiled, but at this point that’s a price I am willing to pay. Pancakes may be my personal favorite, but waffles are much more fun and creative. Here are my favorite ways to eat them:

In the shape of a heart

Aww how sweet! Heart waffles are special because you get to eat them with your hands, and possibly even make a sandwich with them. There’s a special iron for it (my family has like, four different kinds of waffle irons. We’re very strange), and it makes five connected hearts. I loved them when I was little because instead of eating them with a fork, they would be cut by heart and I would dunk them into syrup. But you can also eat them as a sandwich, which brings me to my next point…

Sandwiches or breakfast s’mores

IMG-20130728-00154

A breakfast s’more is the epitome of dessert for breakfast. Nutella has become a regular item in my pantry, and one morning I found it next to the fluff in the pantry. My mom had made heart waffles that morning and thus, the breakfast s’more was born! It’s a very sugary way to start the day, but delicious, fun, and easy. And it still totally counts as breakfast!

Flavored fun things

Instead of looking forward to a pumpkin-spice latté every fall, I look forward to pumpkin pancakes and waffles. The mix comes out every year at Williams Sonoma and is absolutely delicious. We usually made it as pancakes, but the waffle version is even better because it gets a great crunch. I think they also have a gingerbread flavor mix, and of these things are so much better for waffles than for pancakes.

Actual dessert

I love dessert for breakfast, but it makes me feel like I have to disguise dessert as breakfast, when I’d much rather just have dessert. So when I make waffles in the morning, I make extra and freeze some. Then later when I am hunting for a dessert but too lazy to make anything extravagant, I will heat them up and cover them with ice cream. Instead of a waffle cone, it’s a waffle pile!

Leave a comment